what hides behind the white picket fence

“That hateful family bond that masquerades as love.”

The masks that they wear
crack in time
when lies aren’t enough
to hold back the change
with sudden sight
they become real
true twisted features.

holding their hands
up to sky
seeking to blame
all
but themselves.

They said they loved me
as they held me
and wiped off the blood
and dried up the tears
They said they loved me
as they hurt me
and cursed at my name
and broke all my bones
They said they loved me.

Well I’m still here
haunting your dreams
I’ll never leave you
until you all go to hell!!!

They said they loved me
as they scolded me
and used what was handy
and pretended to care
They said they loved me
as they buried me
and mouthed platitudes
and threw flowers
They said they loved me.

Well I’m still here
haunting your life
I’ve decided to move on
heaven is my new home.

8 thoughts on “what hides behind the white picket fence

  1. WOW, this is excellent, powerful…and far too relate-able. I’m no longer sad to be “estranged” from my kin–now I can be who I was meant to be. I’m sorry the whole fam-damnly was messed up, but the scapegoat role gains no applause.

    Like

a comment is welcome here

