time to think about it

we
obey
mindless dance
captivated
puppets cued by fancy advertising
glossy pages attractive perfection
airbrushed flawless
cue despair
body
plump
we
follow
random cues
studio lights
yammering prophets seek higher ratings
live feed draws those left without any hope
sappy soundtrack
violin
music
cued

The d’Verse prompt is Cue over at the Poetry Pub where the pool tables are hot and the drinks cold.

Author’s note: This quadrille is written as a Double-Double Tetractys: 1, 2, 3, 4, 10, 10, 4, 3, 2, 1 with a total of 80 syllables.

32 thoughts on “time to think about it

  1. How cool that you used the tetractys form (double too!) for your quadrille. And those glossy, alluring ads sure need us to spend more time questioning. I like your violin music cued at the end…great touch.

    Like

  2. That is an astonishing form, Brian! I’ve not seen or heard of a Double-Double Tetractys. It’s one to try, but to pull it off as a Quadrille too, I’m not sure if I could do that! Kudos!: What stood out most for me were the ‘mindless dance captivated puppets cued by fancy advertising’ and the ‘sappy soundtrack’, ending so sardonically.

    Like

  3. Personally, I like the ads/photography. I see it as art. It takes a lot of skill to make a human look flawless. I don’t see it as fakery; I see it as skillful illusion. It’s beautiful … not just the way the person looks, but the artistry behind making it happen. The hours of holding position, the makeup, the set, the computer work — I see it all when I look at a photograph. I teach my daughters to see it that way too — as art, as magic.

    Like

    • It is art, but the message behind the art is that if you wear this or use this or talk like this or work here, then you are perfect. I love art and photography and making humans look amazing. But in real life we are all flawed and I prefer the flaws to a dressed up mannequin. I’m glad you are teaching your daughters the difference btwn art and reality.

      Liked by 1 person

a comment is welcome here

