sometimes it’s just luck

I cannot be held responsible for your thoughts
your emotional luggage once lost in customs
found again to your detriment
our paths have crossed at random
I cannot help your visceral reactions
your painful memories caught in a web
ripped free by well meant empathy
I am only capable
of filtering your words
through my screen of experience
meeting thusly
it will be to my good fortune
because I will have learned something new

The Daily Post prompt

Fortune: ORIGIN Middle English: via Old French from Latin Fortuna, the name of a goddess personifying luck or chance.

7 thoughts on “sometimes it’s just luck

    • Thank you very much. I was thinking about chance and luck. The great philosophical debate since the beginning of time. Is the universe random or preordained? Do we exist only in our own minds and the rest is mere illusion?

      Like

  1. This has such terrific insight!
    “I am only capable
    of filtering your words
    through my screen of experience” – wonderful words to express our limitations in trying to help those who we can’t help OR who don’t really want to be helped.

    Like

a comment is welcome here

